Monday, September 10, 2012


This afternoon, the State Election Commission, comprised of Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann, Governor Phil Bryant, and a representative of Attorney General Jim Hood voted today 3-0 to not place Latrice Westbrooks on the ballot for the Second District Court of Appeals race. In that race, Westbrooks would face current Judge E.J. Russell, who was appointed by Governor Haley Barbour.

Staff for Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann argued to the Election Commission that the Mississippi Code requires a Court of Appeals judge to live in the district which they represent. The qualifications for a Court of Appeals judge are, according to Section 9-4-5(3), that a person be a practicing attorney over the age of 30 who has lived in the state and practiced law for not less than 5 years.

Other qualifications statutes regarding the judicial branch are similar. For instance, Chancery Court judges do not have to be residents of the subdistrict they represent, and neither do Circuit Court judges.

More on this to come, as I'm certain that a challenge will be forthcoming shortly.

No comments: