Thursday, March 29, 2012

With Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves' pronouncement, the Personhood supporters have won the war; abortion to be effectively outlawed in Mississippi *UPDATED at 10:38 a.m.

What appeared to be one of the greatest surprise political victories in recent Mississippi history looks as though it will have been for naught.  In November, Mississippians overwhelmingly defeated the Personhood Amendment, which would have banned abortion in Mississippi.  But just a few months later Personhood-supporting legislators, many of whom were elected by districts that voted down Personhood, began offering legislation that would undo Personhood's defeat.

One of those bills was HB 1390.  On March 13, 2012, HB 1390, aimed at closing Mississippi's only abortion clinic, passed the House floor after contentious debate.  The bill was then transmitted to the Senate and assigned to Public Health and Welfare, chaired by Sen. Dean Kirby (R - Pearl).  After assigning the bill, Lt. Governor Tate Reeves (R) issued the following press release:

DATE: March 28, 2012
“We are very close to ending abortion in Mississippi, and I support all the pro-life bills that will do just that, particularly House Bill 1390 that should effectively close the only abortion clinic in Mississippi. I have assigned the pro-life House Bills to the same committees as the House. I have encouraged each chairman to give careful consideration to each bill.”
h/t Y'all Politics

Because I know y'all are going to ask, here are the members of the Senate Public Health and Welfare Committee, along with links to their Senate pages, which contain contact information:

Dean Kirby (R - Pearl), Chairman
Hob Bryan (D - Amory), Vice-Chairman
David Blount (D - Jackson)
Terry C. Burton (R - Newton)
Nancy Adams Collins (R - Tupelo)
Merle Flowers (R - Southaven)
Hillman Terome Frazier (D - Jackson)
Alice Harden (D - Jackson)
Josh Harkins (R - Flowood)
W. Briggs Hopson III (R - Vicksburg)
Gary Jackson (R - French Camp)
Kenneth Wayne Jones (D - Canton)
Rita Potts Parks (R - Corinth)
Willie Simmons (D - Cleveland)
Tony Smith (R - Picayune)
Melanie Sojourner (R - Natchez)
Gray Tollison (R - Oxford)
Bennie L. Turner (D - West Point)
Brice Wiggins (R - Pascagoula)

*UPDATE - To see how these Senators' constituents voted on the Personhood Amendment, click here. (Hint: nearly every one of the above come from anti-Personhood districts.)

1 comment:

Mississippi WAR said...

Can someone please tell this idjit that laws don't stop abortion !?!?!