Friday, January 6, 2012


The following is not a complete list, but it answers a good number of questions:
  • Appropriations: Sen. Buck Clarke (R-Hollandale)
  • Finance: Sen. Joey Fillingame (R-Sumrall)
  • Public Health: Sen. Dean Kirby (R-Pearl)
  • Jud A: Sen. Briggs Hopson (R-Vicksburg)
  • Jud B: Sen. Hob Bryan (D-Amory)
  • Transportation: Sen. Willie Simmons (D-Cleveland)
  • Corrections: Sen. Sampson Jackson (D-Preston)
  • Economic Development: Sen. John Hohrn (D-Jackson)
  • Banking: Sen. Gary Jackson (R-French Camp)
  • Education: Sen. Gray Tollison (R-Oxford)
  • Insurance: Sen. Videt Carmicheal (R-Meridian)
  • Energy: Sen. Merle Flowers (R-Southaven)
  • Public Property: Sen. David Blount (D-Jackson)
  • Veterans Affairs: Sen. Haskins Montgomery (D-Bay Springs)
  • Forestry: Sen. Melanie Sojourner (R-Natchez)
  • Efficiencies in Govt: Sen. Nancy Collins (R-Tupelo)
  • Wildife Fisheries and Parks: Sen. Giles Ward (R-Louisville)
  • Constitution: Sen. Michael Watson (R-Pascagoula)
  • Elections: Sen. Chris McDaniel (R-Ellisville)
  • Conservation: Sen. Tommy Gollot (R-Biloxi)
  • Ports: Sen. Brice Wiggins (R-Pascagoula)
  • Local and Private: Sen. Perry Lee (R-Mendenhall)
  • Tourism - Sen. Lydia Chassaniol (R-Winona)

This is a huge announcement for Sen. Buck Clarke, obviously. It's been quite a roller coaster ride for Clarke, as he looked sure to be one of the losers of the GOP redistricting strategy. Interesting, of the two Pascagoula senators, it's the freshman with the more important committee chairmanship. Also interesting is Sen. McDaniel leading Elections, rather than Sen. Terry Burton.

No comments: